Who : Our People : Board of Directors

Mortimer Neufville

Director Emeritus

Dr. Neufville served as ACDI/VOCA board chair and, prior to that, he chaired the board’s Projects Committee in which capacity he led numerous trips overseas to review projects. He retired in 2008 from his position as executive vice president of the National Association of State Universities and Land-Grant Colleges (now the Association of Public and Land-Grant Universities). Before taking that position in 2000, he led NASULGC’s federal relations activities and coordinated work related to agriculture, natural resources, environmental affairs, human sciences, forestry, and international affairs. He is a former executive of the University of Maryland Eastern Shore, where he was involved in various African development programs. He also served as chairman of the board of the International Institute of Tropical Agriculture, one of the centers of the CGIAR. He previously served on the board of the International Fertilizer Development Center. In September 2008 he was inducted into the International Adult and Continuing Education Hall of Fame at the University of Oklahoma. Dr. Neufville served as interim president of the University of Maryland Eastern Shore from August 2011 through June 2012. In July 2013 he became president of Coppin State University. In November 2014 he was awarded the Marcus Garvey Lifetime Achievement Award by the Institute of Caribbean Studies (ICS) for his contributions to international development and higher education.